change default google account

When signed into multiple Google accounts, you’ll have noticed that one of these is marked as Default. But what if you no longer wish that particular account to be the default one? How do you switch to another default account in Google?

What is a default Google account?

The default account is the first Google account you signed into on that browser. The default account confines what account you’re automatically signed into when you visit a Google-owned service, such as Google Drive or YouTube. So if you’re continuously being signed into the wrong account, it’s time to switch to default accounts.

How to change the default Google account on Windows, Mac, or Chromebook

Go to any Google-owned website, like Gmail, and tap on your profile photo in the top right-hand corner. This will show you all the Google accounts you are recently logged in to, including the default one.

google account list

At the bottom of that box is a Sign out of all accounts button. Tap that to sign out of all your accounts.

Now sign in to that account you wish to make as the default. Once you’re signed in, so it should now show as default in your account list.

Advertisements

You can also sign in to your other accounts as your wish.

See Also: How to find archived emails in Gmail

How to change the default Google account on your Android phone

remove gmail android

Switching to the default account on your phone is even more simple. All you’ve to do is go into your phone settings and remove all of the logged-in Google accounts, except for the one you wish to make default. When the other accounts are removed, the one remaining is “promoted” to default.

See also: How to fix the Google Play waiting for download


FAQs

How many Google accounts can I have?

There is no limit to the number of Google accounts you can sign up for. But you can only have one default account.

When I switch default Google accounts, does it change my settings, bookmarks and browsing history?

All of the settings, like your bookmarks and browsing history, are only to that Google account. So, if you change default Google accounts, your settings will be stored in the former default account, and you’ll have new settings in the new default account.

If I change my default Google account on one device will it change it on another device as well?

No, any changes are only device-specific. So you need to change it on each one device.

Advertisements
Previous articleHow to find archived emails in Gmail | Ultimate guide
I'm the founder as well as Editor-in-Chief @4lolipop. I love technology and have been addicted to it since childhood. I always keep myself updated about upcoming trends in the tech industry and I will try my best to keep my community up to date about these trends.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here